Only global administrators, promotion administrators, promotion users and developers can see revisions information. Developers and promotion users can only see their own revisions. More information is available in the Authorization section.
To open the Revisions table, click the menu Promotions > Revisions.
A new tab will open, where you can check all the information about revisions and perform any available operation with each one of them, according to its current state.
Take into account that the information shown in the Revisions table is not automatically updated once open. Click to refresh the information.
The following sections explain in detail the operations that you can execute on revisions from this table.
Create a Revision¶
Click to open the New Revision dialog. The process to create a new revision is explained in the section Creating Revisions.
Global administrators and promotion administrators also have the possibility to create a new revision uploading directly a VQL file clicking the . The process is explained in the section Create Revisions from VQL.
Edit a Revision¶
To edit a revision, click . A similar dialog to the one of creating a revision will appear. You can change any value from the General pill or update the selected elements in the Revision Elements one. Remember to click the on the top of the dialog to save your changes.
When you change one of the following fields in the General pill, the candidate elements to show will change and, therefore, your selected elements will be lost:
Virtual DataPort server
Take into account that no global administrator users can only edit their own revisions. Moreover, it is not allowed to edit deployed revisions.
It is not possible to edit the revisions created uploading a VQL file.
See the Information of a Revision¶
Global administrators can edit the revisions of other users. No user can edit a revision that has already been deployed. Nevertheless, you can check its content in read-only mode. Click the button and a dialog will appear with all the information about the revision.
You can remove revisions in two different ways:
Select several revisions on the table and click the button.
To remove only one revision, click the button on its row.
Take into account that only global administrator users can remove other users’ revisions. Moreover, it is not allowed to remove deployed revisions.
Filter Revisions in the Table¶
To apply a filter to the results in the table, click the button and fulfill the form in the dialog below.
A new tag like will appear above the table to represent what it is filtering. You can edit the filter clicking its name or remove it clicking its button.
You can create more than one filter. The table will show only those revisions that verify all the filters defined.
Download the Metadata of a Revision¶
You can download the generated VQL or the Scheduler jobs zip that will be deployed for a revision. Click the button and select the corresponding option in the emerging menu.
Validate a Revision¶
The elements of a revision may depend on a set of properties, like data source URIs, user names, passwords… For a deployment to succeed, the target environment should provide a value for each one of these properties. More specifically:
The target environment should define a value for every Virtual DataPort property that parameterizes the VQL of the revision.
Every enabled cluster of the target environment with Scheduler servers should define a value for every Scheduler property that parameterizes the jobs of the revision.
Before deploying a revision, you can validate that the target environment defines all the required properties. Click the button for the corresponding revision and select the target environment that you want to validate. You can also add a comment to the validation.
When the validation process ends a new dialog will appear with the result. If there is any property missing, the validation will fail.
If the validation fails and you have permission to create properties, the button will show up. Click it and a new dialog will show up in which you can create the missing VQL properties.
By default, all properties have an undefined value. You have 3 different options for each property:
Keep the undefined value. The validation process will fail if any property is undefined and you will not be able to deploy a revision.
Fill the value manually.
The column Source Environment Value contains the values of the properties in the environment where the revision was created. You can assign values to the properties copying the values from this column to the New Value column by clicking or . After saving the missing properties, the validation process will be automatically relaunched.
The feature of creating missing properties is not available for Scheduler properties.
Revisions of type DROP are not parameterized, so they do not support validation.
Check the Validation Summary of a Revision¶
You can check the list of environments where a revision was validated on, clicking its button.
If you click one of the environments in the list, you will access the validation summary for that environment.
For those unsuccessful validations, you can check the list of missing properties clicking the button.
Click to copy a revision. This will open the wizard create revisions with all the information copied from that revision. Then, you can edit anything on this revision and save the new revision.
It is not possible to copy revisions of type VQL
You can deploy revisions in two different ways:
Select several revisions on the table and click the button.
To deploy only one revision, click the button on its row.
A dialog will appear where you have to select in which environment you want to deploy the selected revisions. You can also enter a description about the deployment.
If a property is missing in the target environment, you will be able to see the validation details at this moment. If you have permission to create properties, you will also be able to create the missing VQL properties. See section Validate a Revision for more details. After saving the missing VQL properties, the deployment process will be automatically relaunched.
If the option Rollback when the deployment fails in the first server is enabled for the target environment, but there is no backup data available, you will have to confirm that the deployment should continue anyway.
To get more information about the status of the deployment, you can click on the notification that appears after deploying the revision.
Remember that developer users cannot deploy their revisions. They can only validate them.
In the section Deploying Revisions there is a detailed explanation on how the deployment process actually works for the different available strategies.
Check the Environments where a Revision Was Deployed¶
You can check the list of environments where a revision was deployed on, clicking its button.