Configuring and Deleting Databases

To view the current list of databases of the Virtual DataPort server, click Database management on the menu Administration (see List of existing Virtual DataPort databases).

List of existing Virtual DataPort databases

List of existing Virtual DataPort databases

To perform any operation on the database, select it on the list of databases and then, click on the appropriate button at the bottom of the dialog. If you have many databases, you can search one by typing its name in the box at the top of the dialog.

  • Click Edit to:

    • Change the description of the database.
    • Enable or disable the Unicode support of the database.
    • Enable or disable the cost-based optimization feature. See more about this feature in the section Cost-Based Optimization.
    • Enable or disable the simplification of queries. See more about this feature in the section Automatic Simplification of Queries.
    • Enable Kerberos authentication for this database for clients that connect to this Server using the ODBC interface. The JDBC clients and the administration tools can select if they want to use regular authentication or Kerberos. However, the authentication method used in the ODBC interface is set by the Server, not the client.
    • Change the “Authentication type” of the database to “Normal” or “LDAP” (see the section Creating Databases or more information about authentication types).
  • Click Delete to delete the database.

    Important

    When a database is deleted, all its elements are deleted as well: data sources, views, etc.

  • The buttons I18N, Memory Usage and Cache open the dialogs to change the internationalization settings (see section Configuring the Default Internationalization), memory usage and swapping policies (see section Configuring the Memory Usage and Swapping Policy) and cache settings (see section Configuring the Cache), respectively, for the selected database.

    In these three dialogs, if the Default Configuration check box is selected, the Server configuration will be used. If it is cleared, the settings of the database override the global settings of the Server.

  • Click on Assign privileges to set the privileges of all the Virtual DataPort roles and users who are not administrators, over this database. For each user/role, you can specify whether she has global connection, creation, read and/or write access rights to the database (see Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database).

    For more information about user privileges, read section Types of Access Rights.

    Note

    This option is only enabled for databases with “Authentication type” “Normal”.

  • Click on Export to export the metadata of the database to a VQL file, so that it can be easily recreated in another Virtual DataPort installation.

    Neither the users nor its access rights for the database are included in the export process. The database creation statement is not included either.

    To export all the metadata of the server instead of just one database, click Export on the menu File (see section Exporting and Importing the Server Metadata).

Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database

Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database