The Source Refresh option updates a base view, reflecting the changes in the underlying data source. To refresh a base view, follow these steps:
Double-click the base view on the Server Explorer.
Click Source Refresh ().
A dialog with the differences found will be shown:
This dialog shows one row for each field of the schema, and contains information about the type, description, nullability of the field, and if the field belongs to the primary key of the view.
Differences are divided in 4 classes:
New fields, colored in green.
Removed fields, colored in gray.
Changes observed in the source, colored in red. This happens when changes that may affect the view are observed in the source.
Changes made by the user, colored in orange. This happens when the current view does not match the view in the source but no change in the source was observed. Usually because it was the user who introduced this difference by altering the view in the past.
For changes observed in the source and changes made by the user, the dialog allows to configure which version of the view should be saved.
Keep all with current info button to avoid importing any
change from the source and keep the current version of the view.
Override all with source info button to reset the view as
it was just created from scratch from the source.
Added and removed fields changes are always saved.
Once changed are accepted modification will be propagated to the dependent views if necessary.
If the modifications in the base view affect other views, the Administration Tool will display a dialog with a list of the affected views. Select which views you want to propagate these changes to, by selecting the check boxes that appears right before each view’s names (select the header’s check box to select all the views in the list)
After accepting the changes, the views left in an incorrect state will be marked with the icon , in the Server Explorer.