Configuring and Deleting Databases

To view the current list of databases of the Virtual DataPort server, click Database management on the menu Administration (see List of existing Virtual DataPort databases).

List of existing Virtual DataPort databases

List of existing Virtual DataPort databases

To perform any operation on the database, select it on the list of databases and then, click on the appropriate button at the bottom of the dialog. If you have many databases, you can search one by typing its name in the box at the top of the dialog.

  • Click Edit to:

    • Change the description of the database.

    • Enable or disable the Unicode support of the database.

    • Enable or disable the cost-based optimization feature. See more about this feature in the section Cost-Based Optimization.

    • Enable or disable the simplification of queries. See more about this feature in the section Automatic Simplification of Queries.

    • Restrict Kerberos and OAuth authentication for this database for clients (see Creating Databases).

    • Change the “Authentication type” of the database to “Normal” or “LDAP” (see the section Creating Databases or more information about authentication types).

  • Click Delete to delete the database. Take into account some restrictions when trying to delete a database:

    • Only Administrator users (or normal users with the serveradmin role) can drop databases. Normal users with admin rights over a particular database cannot drop the database.

    • Users cannot drop the “admin” database (or the “itpilot” database, if ITPilot is installed).

    • Users cannot drop a database while connected to the database.

    • Users cannot drop a database if it contains the VDP Server’s cache data source or the cache data source configured for a particular database.

    • Users cannot drop a database if it is referenced by a Global Security Policy.

    The way to delete a database depends on the tool that you use:
    • In Admin Tool, users will be asked to enter their password in a dialog in order to confirm the deletion of a database. When using SSO, users must leave the dialog empty and accept to confirm.

    • In Design Studio, users will be asked to write the database’s name in order to confirm the deletion of a database.

    Important

    When a database is deleted, all its elements are deleted as well: data sources, views, etc. The tables in the underlying databases will not be deleted nor the tables created with the remote tables feature.

  • The buttons Memory Usage and Cache open the dialogs to change the memory usage and swapping policies (see section Configuring the Memory Usage and Swapping Policy) and cache settings (see section Configuring the Cache), respectively, for the selected database.

    In both dialogs, if the Default Configuration check box is selected, the Server configuration will be used. If it is cleared, the settings of the database override the global settings of the Server.

  • Click on Assign privileges to set the privileges of all the Virtual DataPort roles and users who are not administrators, over this database. For each user/role, you can specify whether she has global connection, creation, read and/or write access rights to the database (see Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database).

    For more information about user privileges, read section Types of Access Rights.

    Note

    This option is only enabled for databases with “Authentication type” “Normal”.

  • Click on Export to export the metadata of the database to a VQL file, so that it can be easily recreated in another Virtual DataPort installation.

    Neither the users nor its access rights for the database are included in the export process. The database creation statement is not included either.

    To export all the metadata of the server instead of just one database, click Export on the menu File (see section Exporting and Importing the Server Metadata).

Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database

Assigning privileges to users/roles over a database