Synchronize with Virtual DataPort¶
Data Catalog needs to keep a copy of Virtual DataPort’s catalog for proper operation. To create this copy the first time and to keep it updated, you have to launch a synchronization process. Go to the Administration menu and select the Sync with VDP option. The synchronization between both catalogs follows these steps:
Find changes in databases. Data Catalog compares the databases in its own catalog with the current databases in Virtual DataPort’s catalog.
Show changes in databases. Data Catalog shows a dialog with the changes it found: what databases have been modified, which ones have been removed and which new databases have been created since the last synchronization.
Apply changes to databases. If you confirm the changes, the Data Catalog will update its copy of the catalog with the changes it found.
This process is repeated for views and web services.
It is important that the user that launches the synchronization
with Virtual DataPort has at least the
METADATA privilege on all the
elements of the catalog. Otherwise, the synchronization will be executed as
if Virtual DataPort’s catalog only contains those elements the user has
access to. Specifically, if an element is present on Data Catalog, but the
user does not have the
METADATA privilege over it, after synchronizing
with Virtual DataPort the element will be removed from Data Catalog.
The image below represents an example of the dialog that the Data Catalog shows with the changes it found.
In this dialog you will find the following information:
Modified elements. This list shows the elements previously synchronized that still exist in Virtual DataPort, but contain some of the following differences:
Its description has changed.
The description of any of its fields has changed.
If there are modified elements, you will need to make a decision on how the descriptions of these elements should be updated:
Server with local changes. The descriptions will be overwritten with the ones from Virtual DataPort, except for the ones that have been edited from Data Catalog, that will be preserved.
Local. The descriptions from Data Catalog will be preserved.
Server. The descriptions will be overwritten with the ones from Virtual DataPort.
The schemas will always be updated after synchronizing to reflect the ones in Virtual DataPort.
New elements in server. This list shows the elements in Virtual DataPort that did not exist in the last synchronization and, therefore, they are not currently present in Data Catalog. They will be created after synchronizing.
Elements removed from server. This list shows the elements previously synchronized that are not currently present in Virtual DataPort. They will be removed from Data Catalog after synchronizing.
Renamed elements. If a view or web service previously synchronized has been renamed in Virtual DataPort, it will appear in the list New elements in server, with its new name, and in the list of Elements removed from server, with its old name. To preserve all metadata in Data Catalog about it, you need to indicate the correspondence between those two elements by dragging one of them and dropping it into the other one. This correspondence will appear in the list of Renamed elements. If you want to remove the correspondence, click its icon.
We strongly recommend to configure the Solution Manager to synchronize Data Catalog with Virtual DataPort when promoting an environment.